Got Plickers?

Plickers is an assessment tool used with the iOS or Andriod app on an iPad or smartphone. Each student is given a card with a unique visual code.  The code has 4 sides, each lettered A, B, C, and D.  The student holds the card so that the letter they choose to answer the question with is at the top of their card.  The teacher uses the iOS or Android app to slowly scan the room.  The app recognizes the cards, records who the teacher assigned them to, and captures the answer that the student chose.  The app will only record each student’s answer once, so there is no worry of a second scan skewing data.

plicker code

“The kids love it.  I though of it as a good data-collection tool, but my high school kids think it’s a game.” – Susan Clark Russo, Math teacher

“It’s a real simple product that has awesome possibilities in the classroom.  As my building tech coordinator, it’s rare for me to  find something that I think could be used so easily and implemented so well into a classroom as this.”                                                           – Jeff Hendryx, 8th grade Math teacher

One way Mrs. Jamie Consiglio-Lahti, 8th grade science teacher from Chino, California, uses Plickers is to have her students answer the “Problem of the Day” which supports them in reviewing questions for the Science CST that takes place in the spring.  Plickers creates a graph of the overall class score as well as individual responses.  Checking for understanding is instant.Mrs. C

“Plickers boost student engagement. The students love to see their square to red/green if they got it correct (it is instantaneous) and we can use the class score to determine how well they understand the concept overall.  Plus, they like seeing themselves on the board when we scan the cards.  Pretty much it’s a really fun way to boost student engagement and check for understanding on a variety of concepts instantly.” –Jamie Consiglio-Lathi, 8th Grade Science teacher

Click on the links below to learn more about how to implement Plickers in your classroom:

https://www.plickers.com/about                                                                https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/plickers/id701184049?mt=8                                                  https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.plickers.client.android&hl=en https://twitter.com/plickers

About debraboeve

I am a wife and mother of two boys, ages six and three. I love my job as an Assistant Principal in Southern California. I am currently in a Doctoral program in Educational Leadership. These life pursuits occupy my time, and some days I wish there were more hours in the day. It is important for me to be a life long learner and to be an exemplary role model for my boys. Thus given the time I am not at work or using my time to complete course work, I try my best to afford my family the quality time they deserve. It's all about finding balance while being a life long learner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got Plickers?

  1. I have read about them a bunch, but still haven’t tried them. They seem like a great way to get all students leveraging technology, even without a smart phone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

