Digital Citizens in Our Schools

Let’s face it…even good students make bad choices.  Hand a student a marker and he may tag inappropriate words on a desk or inscribe negative comments about a “frienemy” on the bathroom wall. Hand a student a pair of scissors and she may cut her neighbor’s hair or shirt. The other day I talked to a 3rd grade class in hopes of getting to the bottom of which student was placing notes around the classroom that read, “Watch Your Back”. Should we ban “school tools”?  Can you imagine the classroom without these means?

Now incorporated into “school tools” is technology.  There are pros and cons to this truth.  Regardless of whether digital devices are permitted at school or not…particularly the almighty cell phone, students turn them on when they exit the campus gates. The school is responsible for a student’s well-being from the time the student enters school doors in the morning until the time he/she arrives home. This regulation has created some stir with administrators, but as I like to say, “It is what it is.” We know that as soon as our students end their school day, and exit campus, they “power-up” their devices. This mere fact is rather difficult to ignore. For that reason alone it is important to teach responsible Digital Citizenship to prevent inappropriate usage. It has now become another objective in our job description as educations: To teach students how to use digital devices for their benefit (rather than to their detriment).  Digital Citizenship is defined as the norms of appropriate, responsible behavior with regard to technology use. Today this is important as technology is a major factor in 21st Century Learning.

digital+citizenship

Below are “borrowed” lesson plans for teaching Digital Citizenship to school aged students:

About debraboeve

I am a wife and mother of two boys, ages six and three. I love my job as an Assistant Principal in Southern California. I am currently in a Doctoral program in Educational Leadership. These life pursuits occupy my time, and some days I wish there were more hours in the day. It is important for me to be a life long learner and to be an exemplary role model for my boys. Thus given the time I am not at work or using my time to complete course work, I try my best to afford my family the quality time they deserve. It's all about finding balance while being a life long learner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

