Digital Citizenship Means Responsible Use

digital-citizenship

Technology access in the 21st Century has created an increasing demand to prepare our students to use technology safely, legally, ethically, and socially in our school systems.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Nine Themes of Digital Citizenship

  1. Digital Access: full electronic participation in society
  2. Digital Commerce: electronic buying and selling of goods
  3. Digital Etiquette electronic standards of conduct or procedure
  4. Digital Communication:   electronic exchange of information
  5. Digital Literacy: process of teaching and learning about technology and the use of technology
  6. Digital Law: electronic responsibility for actions and deeds
  7. Digital Rights & Responsibilities those freedoms extended to everyone in a digital world
  8. Digital Health & Wellness: physical and psychological well-being in a digital technology world
  9. Digital Security (self-protection): electronic precautions to guarantee safety

About debraboeve

I am a wife and mother of two boys, ages six and three. I love my job as an Assistant Principal in Southern California. I am currently in a Doctoral program in Educational Leadership. These life pursuits occupy my time, and some days I wish there were more hours in the day. It is important for me to be a life long learner and to be an exemplary role model for my boys. Thus given the time I am not at work or using my time to complete course work, I try my best to afford my family the quality time they deserve. It's all about finding balance while being a life long learner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Digital Citizenship Means Responsible Use

  1. What a fantastic resource, Debra. Thank you for posting.

    Like

  2. As teachers, our natural instinct is to keep kids away from what can hurt them. This approach gives students more responsibility and autonomy. Thanks for the info.

    Like

Leave a comment